Return to Guide contents page Meet the team. Using the DecisionMaker Guide site. Places on the web that interest us.
Order your copy of the Guide or other DecisionMaker publications.
A directory of government agencies.
Exercises and worksheets for highschool students.
Link to the big picture
Link to How the law works
Link to How Parliament works Link to How government works

Search in DM

Guide to 2008 NZ Election
Archived NZ Parlt 2005-08
Archived NZ Parlt 2002-05
Our Parliament House
International perspectives on democracy
Electing Parliament
General-election results
Parliamentary parties
NZ First
United Future
Forming the government
Composition of Parliament
The role of the Speaker
Who drafts the laws?
How laws are made
How a bill becomes an act
The Office of the Clerk
Parliamentary Service
MP's pay
A Labour example - Darren Hughes
A National example -
John Key
Select committees
Select commitee members
Petitioning Parliament
Visiting Parliament
Opinion polls
Parliamentary history
The New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust


  Maori Party, 5 MPs

Members of New Zealand's 49th Parliament, elected November 2008.

Find out more about what the Maori Party stands for.

Updated 9 December 2008

In the Maori Party’s 2008 NZ general election policy, its website said “ the Maori Party is asking an important question”:
He aha te mea nui o te Ao?
What is the most important thing in the world?
The election policy statement said “many of you have told us, he tangata, he tangata, he tangata: it is people, it is people, it is people.”
But such is the rich and creative tapestry of the people who inhabit Aotearoa, that we have received many other answers.
Real wages for real work; being respected; a clean environment; my kids; seeing the Treaty honoured; thriving whanau and communities; having hope.

Mäori Party MPs, elected to the 49th Parliament

FLAVELL, Te Ururoa
Waiariki Electorate

HARAWIRA, Hone Pani Tamati Waka Nene
Te Tai Tokerau Electorate

Te Tai Tonga Electorate

Tämaki Makaurau Electorate

TURIA, Tariana
Te Tai Hauäuru Electorate