Return to Guide contents page Meet the team. Using the DecisionMaker Guide site. Places on the web that interest us.
Order your copy of the Guide or other DecisionMaker publications.
A directory of government agencies.
Exercises and worksheets for highschool students.
Link to the big picture
Link to How the law works
Link to How Parliament works Link to How government works

Search in DM

Guide to 2008 NZ Election
Archived NZ Parlt 2005-08
Archived NZ Parlt 2002-05
Our Parliament House
International perspectives on democracy
Electing Parliament
General-election results
Parliamentary parties
NZ First
United Future
Forming the government
Composition of Parliament
The role of the Speaker
Who drafts the laws?
How laws are made
How a bill becomes an act
The Office of the Clerk
Parliamentary Service
MP's pay
A Labour example - Darren Hughes
A National example -
John Key
Select committees
Select commitee members
Petitioning Parliament
Visiting Parliament
Opinion polls
Parliamentary history
The New Zealand Business and Parliament Trust



Mâori Party, four MPs

Members of New Zealand's 48th Parliament, elected September 2005

Tariana Turia and Pita Sharples were co-leaders of the Maori Party at election time.

Te Ururoa Flavell, Member of Parliament for Waiariki, became the Maori Party's first Party Whip

Harry Walker, Chief of Staff
Helen Potter, Researcher
Helen Leahy, Senior Advisor (Policy/Media) in the Maori Party Leaders' Unit at Parliament Buildings, Wellington.

Find out more from the Maori Party Leaders' Unit:
Kawe Reo| phone: +64 4 471 9170
Kawe Whakaahua | Facsimile: +64 4 499 7269
Kawe Reo Nekeneke | Mobile : +64 021 881 031
Karere Hiko | Email:
Paepae Tukutuku | Website:

Find out more about the Maori Party

FLAVELL, Te Ururoa
Waiariki Electorate

Te Ururoa Flavel Waiariki Maori Party MP

Find out more personal information about Te Ururoa Flavell

HARAWIRA, Hone Pani Tamati Waka Ne
Te Tai Tokerau Electorate

HARAWIRA, Hone Pani Tamati Waka Ne  Maori Party MP

Hone Harawira is of Ngati Hau, Ngati Wai, Ngati Hine, Aupouri, Ngapuhi, Ngati Whatua. Fuller bacground on him was not available on the Maori Party website on election day, 2005

SHARPLES, Pita Russell
Tamaki Makaurau Electorate

SHARPLES, Pita , Maori Party MP for Tamaki Makaurau

Find out more personal background about Pita Sharples

TURIA, Tariana
Te Tai Hauauru Electorate

TURIA, Tariana  Maori Party MP

Find out more personal background about Tariana Turia

Updated 1 November 2005