Return to DecisionMaker Publications main menu. Return to Guide contents page Meet the team. Using the DecisionMaker Guide site. Places on the web that interest us
Order your copy of the Guide or other DecisionMaker publications.
A directory of government agencies.
Exercises and worksheets for highschool students.
Link to the big picture
Link to How the law works
Link to How Parliament works Link to How government works

Search in DecisionMaker

Directory for citizenship education
Directory on cultural diversity

State-owned enterprises

Government departments
CEOs for NZ govt departments
Parliamentary offices
Crown entities
Information and services
Local authorities
Help with rights
District health boards


Chief excutives of NZ government departments
January 2006

Find out more about email and web contacts for their departments.

Mr Murray Sherwin
Chief Executive and Director-General of Agriculture and Forestry
Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry
Te Manatu Ahuwhenua, Ngaherehere

Ms Dianne Macaskill
Chief Executive and Chief Archivist
Archives New Zealand
Te Rua Mahara o te Kawanatanga

Ms Katrina Bach
Chief Executive
Department of Building and Housing
Te Tari Kaupapa Whare

Ms Shenagh Gleisner
Acting Chief Executive
Department of Child, Youth and Family Services
Te Tari Awhina i te Tamaiti, te Rangatahi, tae atu ki te Whanau

Mr Hugh Logan
Chief Executive and Director-General of Conservation
Department of Conservation
Te Papa Atawhai

Mr Barry Matthews
Chief Executive
Department of Corrections

Mr Terence Arnold, QC
Chief Executive and Solicitor-General
Crown Law Office

Mr Martin Matthews
Chief Executive
Ministry for Culture and Heritage
Te Manatu Taonga

Mr Martyn Dunne
Chief Executive and Comptroller of Customs
New Zealand Customs Service
Te Mana Arai o Aotearoa

Mr Graham Fortune
Chief Executive and Secretary of Defence
Ministry of Defence
Manatu Kaupapa Waonga

Mr Geoff Dangerfield
Chief Executive
Ministry of Economic Development
Manatu Ohanga

Mr Howard Fancy
Chief Executive and Secretary for Education
Ministry of Education
Te Tahuhu o te Matauranga

Ms Karen Sewell
Chief Executive and Chief Review Officer
Education Review Office
Te Tari Arotake Matauranga

Mr Barry Carbon
Chief Executive and Secretary for the Environment
Ministry for the Environment
Manatu Mo Te Taiao

Dr John Glaister
Chief Executive
Ministry of Fisheries
Te Tautiaki i nga tini a Tangaroa

Mr Simon Murdoch
Chief Executive and Secretary of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Manatu Aorere

Dr Warren Tucker
Government Communications Security Bureau

Dr Karen Poutasi
Chief Executive and Director-General of Health
Ministry of Health
Manatu Hauora

Mr David Butler
Chief Executive and Commissioner of Inland Revenue
Inland Revenue Department
Te Tari Taake

Mr Christopher Blake
Chief Executive and Secretary of Internal Affairs
Department of Internal Affairs
Te Tari Taiwhenua

Ms Belinda Clark
Chief Executive and Secretary for Justice
Ministry of Justice
Tahu o te Ture

Dr James Buwalda
Chief Executive and Secretary of Labour
Department of Labour
Te Tari Mahi

Mr Brendan Boyle
Chief Executive
Land Information New Zealand
Toitu te whenua

Mr Leith Comer
Chief Executive
Ministry of Maori Development
Te Puni Kokiri

Ms Penny Carnaby
Chief Executive and National Librarian
National Library of New Zealand
Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa

Fuimoano Les McCarthy
Chief Executive
Ministry of Pacific Island Affairs

Mr Maarten Wevers
Chief Executive
Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet

Dr Helen Anderson
Chief Executive
Ministry of Research, Science, and Technology
Te Manatu Putaiao

Mr David Bradshaw
Chief Executive and Director
Serious Fraud Office
Te Tari Hara Taware

Mr Peter Hughes
Chief Executive
Ministry of Social Development
Te Manatu Whakahiato Ora

Dr Mark Prebble
Chief Executive and State Services Commissioner
State Services Commission
Te Komihana O Nga Tari Kawanatanga

Mr Brian Pink
Chief Executive and Government Statistician
Statistics New Zealand
Te Tari Tatau

Dr Robin Dunlop
Chief Executive and Secretary for Transport
Ministry of Transport
Te Manatu Waka

Mr John Whitehead
Chief Executive and Secretary to the Treasury
The Treasury
Kaitohutohu Kaupapa Rawa

Ms Shenagh Gleisner
Chief Executive
Ministry of Women's Affairs
Minitatanga mo nga Wahine


Affiliated programs Sitemap Privacy Accessibility Terms of use

Search powered by Google New Zealand W3C HTML Guidelines

Copyright © 2006 Asia Pacific Economic News Ltd. All rights reserved. Users of the Guide are free to make copies or entire pages for personal or educational use, but not for commercial purposes. Copies of individual photos or ilustrations may not be made without the permission of the copyright holders. Use of this website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use.